Country #12 – Marshall Islands

012 Marshall Islands

Challenge Log:

#12        Date selected:    8/3/16   Date completed:

Country selected:  Marshall Islands

Dining Selection: Cooked Own

What was on the menu:

  • Sweet Macadamia Pie

Restaurant/Recipe address:

http://globaltableadventure.com/recipe/sweet-macadamia-pie/

Tuesday 8th March 2016, 5.38pm

I’m a little ashamed to say that I had absolutely no idea where the Marshall Islands were when I first picked this challenge.  I’m even more so since discovering it’s actually in the Pacific Ocean, about half way between Australia and Hawaii.  It looks stunning.

The country comprises of 1156 individual islands and islets grouped ito 29 coral attolls.  It is part of the larger island group of Micronesia and has a population of a mere 53,158 people.  It’s a presidential republic in free association with the USA, receiving defence, subsidies and access to US based agencies such as the FCC and USPS.  It also uses the US dollar as its currency.

Like many Pacific Island nations, the Marshall Islands is bearing the brunt of climate change.  In 2008 & 2013 extreme waves and high tides caused widespread flooding in the capital city of Majuro.  The drought of 2013 that gripped the norther atolls, left 6000 people surviving on less than 1 little of water per day.

Marshall Islands also have the largest shark sanctuary in the world.  Nearly 2,000,000kms have been reserved for this purpose and all shark fishing is banned in these waters.  All by-catch must also been released.

Fishing is obviously critical to the economy and the most important commercial crops include coconuts, tomatoes, melons and breadfruit.  I’m looking forward to seeing what kind of cuisine comes from this!

Tuesday 8th March 2016, 10.33pm

A two challenge day!!

It turns out that one of the very few recipes I could find for the Marshall Islands was a dessert so I figured why not?  Besides the Sweet Macadamia Pie that I found looked beyond delicious and I couldn’t resist.  I went and got a few extra groceries and whipped up one this evening!

I’m not too bad at cooking desserts though I haven’t done many pies in the past.  This one was fairly straight forward though.  The trick was keeping the pastry cool enough given that it was almost 40 degrees (Celsius) here in Melbourne today.  I worked quickly and threw it back in the fridge where needed.  In concentrating on that however, I ALMOST forgot to put the coconut over the base.  It was salvageable though it meant that I ended up with a ‘glazed’ section of the pastry haha!

I think if I were to do this again, I would probably use a dish that was a little shallower.  I used quite a deep dish this time round and ended up with quite a large crust.  The filling probably could have done with a little extra cooking too but it wasn’t too soft and still worked nicely.

012 Sweet Macadamia Pie
Sweet Macadamia Pie

The pie itself was delicious!  Super sweet so definitely worth cutting through the sweetness with cream (as suggested in the recipe), ice cream or similar.  I’m a little addicted to macadamias so this was right up my alley.

Now to give the kitchen a big clean (especially the pantry where I somehow managed to spill a heap of brown sugar and custard powder!).  But first, time to choose another challenge…..

013 Lebanon.JPG

Leave a Reply

